ASSN Inaugurates New Interim Executive Committee

New ASSN Interim Chair, Boubacar N'Diaye

New ASSN Interim Chair, Boubacar N’Diaye

1 February 2013

ACCRA, Ghana – The African Security Sector Network (ASSN) has unveiled a new interim executive committee, chaired by Boubacar N’Diaye from Mauritania. The team will stay in place pending the election of a substantive executive committee by the next ASSN Annual General Meeting (AGM), tentatively planned for October 2013.

The new Chair, Boubacar N’Diaye, is a professor of Political Science and Pan-African Studies at the College of Wooster in Ohio, USA, and an expert of longstanding in the fields of security, civil-military relations and democratisation.

Boubacar has previously led on the Francophone work of the ASSN, as well as on the network’s research and publication work with the Geneva Centre for the Democratic Control of Armed Forces (DCAF), working closely with Dr. ‘Funmi Olonisakin. He succeeds Eboe Hutchful, the respected Ghanaian professor who has successfully steered the ASSN for close to a decade. The new Vice Chair is Sandy Africa from South Africa, with Professor Hutchful as Executive Secretary.

Dr. ‘Funmi Olonisakin has meanwhile  stepped down from the ASSN executive committee to concentrate on her increased professional engagements, which include running both theAfrican Leadership Centre (ALC) in Nairobi and the Conflict Security and Development Group (CSDG) at King’s College London. She nonetheless remains one of the ASSN’s most invaluable resource persons, having served with great dedication as a founding member of the ASSN network, a long-time member of the executive committee, and erstwhile Regional Coordinator for West Africa.

Below is the full list of the members of the interim executive committee:

1.    Boubacar N’Diaye, Chair.
2.    Sandy Africa, Vice Chair.
3.    Eboe Hutchful, Executive Secretary.
4.    Gavin Cawthra, Regional Coordinator, Southern Africa.
5.    Medhane Tadesse, Regional Coordinator, Horn of Africa.
6.    Col (Rtd) Jerry Kitiku, Regional Coordinator, East Africa and the Great Lakes Region.
7.    Uju Agomoh, Regional Coordinator, West Africa.
8.    Niagalé Bagayoko-Penone, Member.
9.    Robin Luckham, Member.
10.  Anicia Lalà, Member.
11.  Janine Rauch, Member.
12.  David Pulkol, Member.
13.  Paul Ahiave, Member.
14.  Ecoma Alaga, Member.

Their complete profiles can be seen on this page.